The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) is the world’s largest educational and scientific computing society. UMBC has an active ACM student chapter that is open to all UMBC undergraduate and graduate students of any major.

Every year the chapter organizes various events where faculty members, ACM distinguished speakers, and local tech companies talk about various interesting topics. Usually, the first event of a year is the Welcome Back Picnic. UMBC ACM also conducts Hi-Tea competitionsCode Craftsmanship meetups, and Academic Paper Reading groups.

The goal of the UMBC ACM student chapter is to foster interaction between all students, both graduate, and undergraduate, in Computer Science and Electrical Engineering. Our mission is to provide a forum for student interaction and provide opportunities for members to expand their computing skills and their knowledge of computing. Through the years we have had several students (listed below) who have organized the chapter activities.


2019: Sravani Varanasi, Sai Sree Laya Chukkapalli, Samit Shivadekar, Ajinkya Borle
2018: Avani Dave, Arya Renjan, Sai Sree Laya Chukkapalli, Prajwal Gadad
2017: Nisha Pillai, Srishty Saha,Maithilee Joshi, Agniva Banerjee
2016: Sandeep Nair Narayanan, Sudip Mittal, Siraj Memon,  Hang Gao
2015: Ashwinkumar Ganesan, Mahbubur Rahman, Sandeep Nair Narayanan,  Sudip Mittal
2014: Akshay Peshave,  Omar Shehab,  Genaro Hernandez, Mihir Girish Kelkar
2013: Prajit Kumar Das, Akshay Peshave, Primal Pappachan, Sunil Gandhi
2012: Varish Mulwad, Lisa Mary Mathews, Ravendar Lal Bhojwani, Prajit Kumar Das
2011: Yasaman Haghpanah, Niels Kasch, Bryan Wilkinson, Yu Wang
2010: Wesley Griffin, Niels Kasch, Bryan Wilkinson, Wenjia Li
2009: Wesley Griffin, Susan Mitchell, Don Miner, Wenjia Li